Not Your Daughter's Jeans: Review

Not Your Daughter's Jeans - how to say goodbye to the over-jeans tummy bulge!
Not Your Daughter's Jeans - how to say goodbye to the over-jeans tummy bulge!
4 stars for NYDJ Jeans

Not Your Daughter's Jeans promise to make you drop a dress size, get rid of your muffin-top and make you look svelte. But are they worth the premium price?

The first time I tried on my NYDJ jeans, I was disappointed - yes, they flattened my middle, but my thighs looked as thunder-y as ever. But a month later, I had to rethink - because every time I wore my NYDJ's, people said things like, "Hey! You've lost weight!" or "Those jeans look great, where did you get them?". As for my rear view, my husband told me my butt looked cute (if you'd seen my butt, you'd know it's way bigger than cute....).

So I've had to agree, I look better in my Not Your Daughter's Jeans than in any of my other pants. They're well-made in quality fabric, so two whole years later, they're still my "smart" jeans - I've never had a pair stay looking so good for so long! And they're definitely the most comfortable jeans I've worn in years.

But let's look in more detail at what they can and can't do - that way if you're going to buy a pair, you'll have more realistic expectations than I did!

Lose the Muffin Top

NYDJ jeans say they'll banish your muffin top. There's no magic in that - NYDJ's are not low rise. Any waist-high jeans will prevent overflow, as anyone will know who grew up in the days when all skirts and pants sat on the waist. In those days, we didn't even know what a muffin top was!

A muffin top happens when fat on the tummy and hips is squidged upwards by a tight fastening at hip level. Raise the fastening to your real waist, where you carry less fat, and there's no overflow (or at least it's a heck of a lot smaller).

Of course,the downside is that if you don't like the high-waisted look, you may be reluctant to tuck a shirt into your NYDJ's. Personally, I wear most of tops tucked out so it hasn't been an issue.

Mind you, I think they've missed an opportunity. Why not make a style that's really high-waisted, i.e. coming right up over the ribs like a pair of Spanx? That would be a boon for women who carry fat higher in the waist and would give a really svelte look.

Lose the Tummy!

These are called Tummy Tuck jeans for a reason! The front of the jeans is very firm and definitely makes you feel pulled in. Obviously, that's part of the reason they come up to the waist, so they can cover the whole stomach.

Once again, I can 't help wishing they had a style that's really high-waisted, because I'm sure I'm not the only menopausal woman whose belly fat is sneaking up on to her ribs...

What About the Thighs?

This is where I was in for a disappointment. Not Your Daughter's Jeans have more spandex than other jeans (4% as opposed to 1% or 2%), but most of it is in the (very firm) tummy area.

If you feel you need strong thigh control, then you may be better off buying any old pair of jeans and a pair of Spanx thigh-shapers to wear under them.

I think I'll stick with my NYDJ's, personally. They may not minimize my thighs, but they don't draw unwanted attention to them either.

Have you ever bought tight stretch jeans that squeeze your thighs beautifully when you first put them on, but when you start moving, they develop unflattering horizontal wrinkles? That just makes it more obvious you've squeezed your thunder thighs into a size too small. NYDJ's don't do that - they don't hold you in much, but they stay smo-o-o-th. And they don't cut off your circulation!

One size smaller in NYDJ's?

I've seen several websites recommending you buy your NYDJ's a size smaller than your regular size - because they do "give" over time.

Personally, I think it depends on your shape.

If you're looking for a super-slimming pair of jeans and don't mind whether you can breathe, by all means go for a size smaller than your normal jeans size - but only if you have slim thighs.

Personally I'm a pear-shaped size 12 (US). When I bought my rhinestone NYDJ's, I tried on a size 10. I could get them on, and do them up (eventually) - and they gave me an impressively flat stomach. But my saddle bags looked worse than ever in contrast to my super-tight bum and super-flat tummy.

The size 12 fits me very nicely. thank you. They don't hold my tummy in as much as a smaller size would, but they give me a much smoother line from hip to thigh. Plus I can move in them - I even wear them to go dancing!

Most women become more apple-shaped around menopause, so I guess it's not surprising that Not Your Daughter's Jeans have been designed to suit that figure. Unfortunately, I'm one of those who has collected a belly without losing the thigh fat!

So to summarize - if you're an apple with lovely slim thighs, you may want to try the "one size smaller" trick (if you're buying online, check the Returns policy first!). But if you're a pear, buy whatever size you would normally buy in jeans.

Either way, choose a pair that fits snugly when you try them on - it should be a bit of a struggle to zip them up, but not lying-down-on-the-floor-with-a-coat-hanger-tight (if you wore jeans in the '70's, you'll know what I mean!). They will give somewhat with washing and wearing.

Get ready to say goodbye to your tummy!


All text copyright Marisa Wright. Photo thanks to Size8jeans on Flickr.

Comments 60 comments

Marisa Wright profile image

Marisa Wright 3 years ago from Sydney Author

Wow, that's disgraceful. Have you checked out the consumer laws in your location? If that happened in Australia (where I live) the store would be obligated to give you your money back, and you could report them to Fair Trading if they didn't.

It's a worry to hear that there are "common problems" on any jeans.

maria 3 years ago

I have bought two pair of NYDJs. Both pair have been defective. The panel on the front has separated from the rest of the jeans. After talking to customer service apparently this is a common problem. I have been led down a garden path that has no end trying to get a pair replaced. First they need a letter stating the problem, then numbers, then pictures, then more numbers then I have to pay to send the jeans to headquarters. No replacement still!

Marisa Wright profile image

Marisa Wright 3 years ago from Sydney Author

I'm so sorry to hear that, Rachel. One of the things I really like about my NYDJ's is the way they stayed true to size after washing (whereas most jeans shrink a bit).

It is important to buy the jeans skin-tight, because the fabric does "give" a little with wear - but it sounds like yours have given much more than that. Did you, by any chance, dry them in a hot tumble dryer? The hot setting on a dryer will destroy the lycra, which is what gives the jeans their shape. I can't think of any other reason for the bagginess.

Rachel 3 years ago

I bought 2 pairs of these jeans as in the shop they looked really good. However, after washing them several times, the fabric has really 'given' and they are now baggy. To be honest, I won't be wearing them again as they do not look good on me, they just look as if I have lost weight and have the wrong size jeans on. As I paid over £300 for both pairs I am VERY disappointed!

Giselle 4 years ago

I am on a fixed budget,but reluctuntly went ahead and paid $104 at macys...after hours and shopping at countless stores NOTHING made me feel/look as good as these jeans...I have nice legs but I'm very heavy top and muffin top would be understatement,but these jeans completely eliminated that and added length to my 5'2 frame...because there also long if you were them with heels they look fabulous.To be honest I had planned to return them because I really can't afford them but after my first wear I ripped all tags off.Sooooooo worth it!

Casey 5 years ago

I recently purchased a pair of NYDJ and theyt fit perfectly. They were comfortable and I received many compliments on the jeans. I usually try to avoid jeans and wear slacks or curduroys, but these jeans changed my mind. They look great and I feel good in them. I highly recommend purchasing a pair of NYDJ....

JT 5 years ago

I am hooked. Once I tried them I had to go back for more. I now own 5 pairs and I do consider them a good investment. They wear well, I look slimmer and get quite a few compliments.

TinaLynn profile image

TinaLynn 5 years ago

I have always wondered about these jeans. Thanks for the detailed review.

texasgirlfw profile image

texasgirlfw 5 years ago

I wear the NYDJ and absolutely love them. They are so comfortable, they feel like PJ's.

Manic!@thedisco profile image

Manic!@thedisco 5 years ago from Beautiful Arkansas Ozarks

I love this review! Due to bad wiring, I went into menopause at 26, so have been conflicted for some time about things that look cute and trendy, when my body really just screams for comfort. I am also a pear, and found this both helpful and humorous. Voted up!

Marisa Wright profile image

Marisa Wright 5 years ago from Sydney Author

@Sandra, I think you bought the same ones I did! I'm a size 12/14 but they still look good. They're almost black, with a bootleg cut and rhinestones on the rear pockets. Love 'em!

Sandra Jones 5 years ago

I bought a pair this week as I am visiting the states, I loved them at first sight, you have to try all the different styles, I settled for a bootleg darker denim and I have to say they make me look great and are so comfy I could even wear them on a plane. Utterly love them, in fact so much so I went back and bought a 2nd pair. I wear a size 6 so I am not so big but they look great on me. I bought Jeans in Gap and Banana republic this week and these are way better. Mine have some sparkles on the pocket so they are dressy too. You may as well buy some really nice ones if your going to pay the price for them.

graceomalley profile image

graceomalley 5 years ago

I wondered also about these jeans, thanks for the info. I didn't realize about the dryer killing spandex, so thanks for that too. I also wear a size 12, (a 10 in some things) and I consider myself trim. Since you are a 12, you must be too :)

Marisa Wright profile image

Marisa Wright 5 years ago from Sydney Author

Emily, did you let them dry naturally or did you put them in the dryer?

These days, many people throw everything in the dryer, not realising it damages the spandex. The bottom line is, if any garment contains Lycra, its life will be dramatically shortened if you put them in a tumble dryer.

Emily 5 years ago

I bought a size 12 pair & paid full price ($98) at Boscov's about a year ago. They fit nicely but after 8 months they developed a noticeable puck near the bottom of the zipper & now look puffy & stretched out in a 3 inch area - it appears the spandex stretch gave out. This has happened to several of my Gloria Vanderbilt jeans also in the same place. Will be contacting the company regarding this. Would not buy another pair at full price.

Lauren Mills 5 years ago

I'm looking for a good pear of tummy tuck jeans but am not sure what brands are available. Can anyone offer me some advice?

Esther 5 years ago

I owned a pair and boy,, I love them.. I'm 43 and never felt better... not even when I was a size 4 and now I'm a 12 or 14...... Got them at MACY's.. Thanks for thinking of us!

Kris  5 years ago

I have one pair of NYDJeans. No they aren't my daugher's but they might be my 85 year old mother's. One looks matronly in them...which is the last thing I need at 62. Keeping myself in relatively good shape, finding the right size jean...yes even at the Gap or high end jean's stores like True the best bet. Bite the bullet and go a size up.

GmaGoldie profile image

GmaGoldie 5 years ago from Madison, Wisconsin

Marisa Wright,

There is a shop downtown Lake Geneva that advertises these - wondered what it was all about - thank you!

alertswiftreview profile image

alertswiftreview 5 years ago from USA

I Love jeans..... It's a really great review

Kathleen S. 5 years ago

It only makes sense that high waisted jeans reduce the muffin top. Look at Diane Keaton. Her pants are always almost up to her rib cage. She has no muffin top, and now I know why she wears such high waisted pants. The lady is not only talented, but brilliant.

Susan 5 years ago

The fit is great, however, my second pair was defective. I tried emailing the company and have yet to hear from them.

Marisa Wright profile image

Marisa Wright 5 years ago from Sydney Author

Thanks Kay, glad you like them! Interesting that yours sit under the navel - maybe they're not all the same cut.

Kay 5 years ago

Just got my first pair and couldn't believe how much thinner they make me look. I chose my usual size. The pair I got actually sit right below my navel, not sure of the cut right now, so they don't look like high rise jeans, rather very stylish! I will now look for others on sale since many of you seem to have found them that way! Mine were pretty pricey, but once I looked in the mirror, I thought it was well worth it. It's also true that there is none of the ugly "bubbling" down the backs of your legs with these, those rolls and lines that form when your jeans are too tight. These are a great, smooth fit and I'd highly recommend trying a pair on to see what you think. Bet you buy them!

FashionBebop 6 years ago

I just brought my first pair and they were on sale at Dillards for $29.99! I have been wanting a pair for a while. I am very excited about the fit. The writer is correct in saying what she said about the thigh area. I did not like the fit in the thighs but the but lift, I loved!

shoppingqueen profile image

shoppingqueen 6 years ago

Thanks for the review, I think I'm going to check these jeans out!

tootsie 6 years ago

i received a pair for a giftand when I washed them in cold water w/Woolite they seemed to shrink and look like

high waters..they were a perfect fit.

SJG 6 years ago

I reeeeally resisted getting these (just because of the concept - I guess I'd like to think I'm not old enough to have a daughter) but I tried on a pair at an Off 5th Saks Outlet and instantly converted. I still felt like they were holding in the fat for 10 minutes after I took them off!

Personally, I thought they sucked in my thighs wonderfully AND I was able to buy 2 sizes smaller - a 12 instead of a 16. This was what really sold me on them!!

If the price is making you eeeeek, try going to Off 5th or Nordstrom's Rack and see what you can find. I paid I think $55 for mine. Also, be sure you wash them on gentle cycle, in cold water and drip dry! These aren't the old trusty Wranglers you can wash warm, tumble dry.

Curvy Jen 6 years ago

Have to agree, I discovered NYDJ a few months ago and they've been a revolution. Friends think I've lost weight (I haven't) and I feel so much more confident and feminine.

Samantha 6 years ago

Sure thing, Marisa. I'll let you know when it is live.

Marisa Wright profile image

Marisa Wright 6 years ago from Sydney Author

Sam, you're very welcome. Please just include a link back to the original.

Samantha 6 years ago

Marisa- if it is all right, we'd like to use part of this article (with attribution, of course) in the NYDJ section of our blog. We have been selling NYDJ for a number of years now, and like to gather reviews to help educate our customers.



Owner, The James Store (

mikicagle profile image

mikicagle 6 years ago from Oklahoma

they were recently on sale here for 68.00. I think I need to go and try some on!!

janice 6 years ago

Just bought my first pair at Marshall's for 24.99; love them!

MrsJdenim profile image

MrsJdenim 6 years ago from nj

Try the old navy jeans

RecoverToday profile image

RecoverToday 6 years ago from United States

I have several pair of these. They are the most comfortable jeans I own!

Jill 6 years ago

I just bought a pair at our cute little boutique in Cambridge, WI after having wondered about them for a LONG time. They are my favorite by far!!

Marisa Wright profile image

Marisa Wright 6 years ago from Sydney Author

I agree, Amy. It's been several months now, and my MYDJ jeans are still lookin' good and getting me compliments

Amy P 6 years ago

I absolutely love these jeans, they fit me like they were made right on me. I am a plus size woman and I have never had a pair of jeans that fit until now. Usually the ones with stretch in them begin to look and feel baggy after an hour of wear, not these,they look as good at the end of the day as they did when I put them on. A great big thank you for a product that finally lives up to the hype. A little pricey but well worth it.

mistywild profile image

mistywild 6 years ago from Houston, TX (Proud Texan)

Great hub, I may have to try me a pair :)

MaryElena profile image

MaryElena 6 years ago

I'll have to check these jeans out.

martycraigs profile image

martycraigs 6 years ago

I think my wife might be interested in a pair of jeans like this. Thanks for the review.

CurlyGirlCa 6 years ago

I recently got a pair and while I'll never look skinny, I thought I looked pretty good and they wore very well. Only thing though, the petite is still too long so I'll need to get them shortened. Had bought them full price at Nordstroms and getting them shortened there for free so think about that if you buy on EBay.

I'm buying a couple more pairs now. No more mom looking jeans for me.

MAYRAPINK profile image

MAYRAPINK 7 years ago from texas

i always was curious about these jeans since i heard of them..hmm great review

sheristeele profile image

sheristeele 7 years ago from Siler City, NC

Was not aware that these jeans even existed.. have been wearing Shape FX from Newport-News and I love them. THANKS for the hub info!

PpcJen profile image

PpcJen 7 years ago

LOL - I love it. Thanks for writing this very entertaining review. It would be great if we could banish the "muffin top" forever! Fashion is crazy sometimes!

Remember while back when all the shirt styles were really short? And the jeans got really low? So many people were walking around with it all hanging out. Yikes! No thanks.

Anyway - thanks! Very funny.

Khan""1 7 years ago

Good reviews.

Thanks for informing

Song-Bird profile image

Song-Bird 7 years ago from Michigan

You have a very entertaining way of writing! Great job.

kyon 7 years ago

good discus about jeans fashion.

irlsgirl 7 years ago

I agree about the high-waist jeans not producing a muffin top. I even had an aunt who taught me how to zip up high-waist pants and skirts to ensure no bulges -- unless you sit down, of course. but this is a cool product. Thanks for the info! ^_^

Leave it to me. profile image

Leave it to me. 7 years ago

We sell these jeans at the store where I work in Alabama.. a lot of our customers seem to like them, and most of them actually have to go down a size.. but you're right they are not miracle pants

shibashake profile image

shibashake 7 years ago

This is a really interesting review. I have been thinking of writing something about jeans myself.

What has worked well for me is to have some tight pairs of jeans and some regular sized ones. When I want to cut down on eating, I will wear those tight ones. It is very uncomfortable to eat when you are wearing tight jeans - lol.

Can't do this continuously, but it works for the occasional work off yesterday's brownie days.

Frieda Babbley profile image

Frieda Babbley 7 years ago from Saint Louis, MO

This is a fantastic review!!!! Thanks for the info. Love your honest and practical tone.

sunil.menon 7 years ago from India Bangalore

I Think its a Good way of Promotion

What do you think of Food and Nutrion Factors in Losing weight?

siennapacific profile image

siennapacific 7 years ago from California

Thanks for your advice. I've always wondered about these jeans.

elisabethkcmo profile image

elisabethkcmo 7 years ago from Just East of Oz

thanks for the info, I'll have to try these.

Perhaps they will help the look of the dreaded dunlap!!

(Your belly dun lap over your pants)

2patricias profile image

2patricias 7 years ago from Sussex by the Sea

Pat bought a pair in the USA about 2 years ago, for a friend. This was before they were widely available in the UK. Wish we'd know about the apple/pear shape advice because you are so right! The friend had to loose a bit of weight (she's a pear) to get into them - so maybe it was good in the long run.

Only other downside is that the fit is absolutely best when they have just been washed - after a couple of wears they tend to stretch a little bit.

On the plus side, they have worn very well.

Marisa Wright profile image

Marisa Wright 7 years ago from Sydney Author

Oops, I published this a little early - haven't added the links yet. You can check on the Not Your Daughter's Jeans website for stores worldwide - however in writing this article, I was surprised at the prices I found on eBay (much less than I paid in the store!). So I'm thinking, try them on in the High Street then once you know your size, get eBaying!

anitariley65 profile image

anitariley65 7 years ago from Little Town Ohio

Thank you sooooo much Marisa. Which stores carry these jeans? I am a 44 year old who has been dealing with menopause since 2000. I have the thigh issue too. I feel for ya girl. I just hope that one of our local mall stores carry these jeans.

With Sincere gratitude~ Anita

Shelly McRae profile image

Shelly McRae 7 years ago from Phoenix, Arizona

Good review, Marisa. Thanks for the info.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.

    More by this Author

    Marisa Wright profile image

    Marisa Wright2,808 Followers
    98 Articles

    As a 60-something female, Marisa Wright is well aware of the challenges facing women throughout their life in health, beauty and fashion

    Click to Rate This Article