Schwarzkopf Essensity Ingredient List

Updated on April 9, 2017
HairNerd profile image

I like using and talking about products that are safe for the the environment, animals, and ourselves!

How Natural Is Schwarzkopf Essensity?

I will be posting the full ingredient list of every company that claims to have a "natural hair color line." First on the list is Schwarzkopf Essensity.

Below is the full table of ingredients, followed by my review. Let's dig further into their ingredient list, shall we?

Schwarzkopf Essensity Full Ingredient List

Ingredient
Function
Skin Deep Hazard Score (1-9)
Aqua
Water
0
Cetearyl Alcohol
Surfactant (Synthetic)
1
Glyceryl Stearate
Surfactant (Synthetic)
0
Ethanolamine
Opens Cuticle (Synthetic)
(5-6)
Octyldodecanol
Fragrance (Synthetic)
1
Sodium Cetearyl Sulfate
Salt and Cetyl Blend (Synthetic)
0
Grape Seed Oil
Conditioning Agent (Natural)
0
Cocamidopropyl Betaine
Surfactant (Synthetic)
4
Toluene 2,5-Diamine Sulfate
Pigment
7
Potassium Stearate
Emulsifier (Synthetic)
1
Glycerin
Fragrance (Synthetic)
0
Resorcinol
Pigment (Synthetic)
8
Sodium Sulfite
Preservative (Natural)
2
2-Methylresorcinol
Pigment (Synthetic)
4
Sodium Chloride
Preservative (Natural Salt)
0
4-Chlororesorcinol
Pigment (Synthetic)
6
Ectoin
Buffering Agent (Synthetic)
0
Aminomethyl Propanol
pH Adjuster (Synethetic)
3
Caramel
Colorant (Synthetic)
0
Ascorbic Acid
Vitamin C (Natural); pH adjuster
0
Xanthum Gum
Viscosity Agent (Synthetic)
0
m-Aminophenol
Coat Tar Pigment (Synthetic)
5
There's only 3 natural ingredients in the entire line.
Schwarzkopf Essensity Full Ingredient List
Schwarzkopf Essensity Full Ingredient List | Source

Is Schwarzkopf Essensity Telling the Truth?

If you're a knowledgeable hair stylist, you know that no professional hair color line can be 100% natural (at this point in time).

Because hair stylists have some of the most dangerous jobs — in terms of exposure to chemicals — many companies are striving to create a color line that is safe for the stylist and the client, and still works as a professional-grade product should. In other words, in addition to being non-toxic, it should also cover grey hair and be predictable.

While I can appreciate the strides made by some companies to be transparent and forthcoming with their ingredient list and marketing, the majority of them still partake in "greenwashing." This means that companies will spread misinformation about their ingredients and practices to convince the public that they are environmentally responsible.

For stylists, this means that a sales rep comes in to tell you about this "amazing, natural hair color line" that "every hairdresser with a conscience is buying." So, you unknowningly swallow every piece of garbage information this sales person peddles because, well, they are the one with the donuts.

Most of us will try to work out some deal with our rep on the spot, and not even think to research the claims made by our "trusted" manufacturers.

Conclusion: Schwarzkopf Essensity Isn't Even Close to Natural

As you can see above, Schwarzkopf Essensity has about three natural ingredients. I gave them the benefit of the doubt and said their salt-based preservatives are natural, even though I couldn't officially confirm this.

Without that leeway, they only have one natural ingredient: grape seed oil.

I was very disappointed to come to this conclusion, but in terms of au naturel ingredients and transparency, I give them a 2/10.

Questions & Answers

    Comments

      0 of 8192 characters used
      Post Comment

      • profile image

        Schwarzkoph user 

        6 months ago

        Does anyone k ow how to read and interprete anymore...essensity never claimed to be natural and could not call it organic because it is not!! It is ammonia free and parabin free. It is also a permanent color that does not contain ppd.

      • profile image

        CP 

        9 months ago

        I couldn't agree more with the fact that they are calling this "natural" and the list sure does not contain natural ingredients. This product caused my hair to break. I was trying to hide gray and trying to add some blond colour and therefore they also have to add Hudrogen peroxide. I sure wouldn't call that natural! I continued to loose more and more hair while using this product. It would become cut so that I had 2 to 3 inch pieces sticking up from a head of hair that is quite long (goes just past my shoulders). Really bad that they are so deceiving in calling themselves natural!

      • profile image

        Liz 

        13 months ago

        I used Schwarzkoft Brilliance range. Used it once no problem. Second time had adverse reaction. My eyes and cheeks swelled up dramatically. On anti-histamines, eye drops and cream. My eyelids are still red and sore and flakey. Definately the formula is not Natural.

      • HairNerd profile imageAUTHOR

        Rosey 

        17 months ago from Austin, TX

        Aundrea, Oway gives flawless grey coverage, but you may need to know these tips and tricks that truly do not add extra time to your service. Are you dropping the .0 Natural part of your formula down a level in those super resistant grey situations? Are you pre-shampooing with htech shampoo from Oway?

      • profile image

        Aundrea 

        17 months ago

        I love Oway, but can't seem to get it to cover my resistant greys. I've tried everything.

      • profile image

        Deanna 

        22 months ago

        I would love to read your review on O&M when you get it done! I don't know how to subscribe to this article. :-(

      • HairNerd profile imageAUTHOR

        Rosey 

        23 months ago from Austin, TX

        Laura... I am so sorry to hear that. Have you looked into some natural nontoxic scalp treatments to help it heal? You may have a sensitivity to pigment. ALways be sure to patch test in the future and get some allergy tests!

        Hi JP! I actually just did an Oway hair color review recently. You can read all about it right here https://bellatory.com/hair/Oway-Hair-Color-Review

      • profile image

        JP 

        2 years ago

        Can you share the ingredient list for oway?

        Sounds like a promising product.

      • profile image

        Laura 

        2 years ago

        This product could be used in war its so toxic! I have a horrific rash down my back. My ears have blisters all over them. It has been 5 weeks and taking 20k in biotin a day to get the growth speed up in my hair. I have an apt in hopes to strip this out as every wash makes it worse. I am so upset and in pain. I am very sad I didn't do a patch test. However, I am not sure that would have stopped me as the symptoms only get worse over time. Initial it wasn't too bad.

      • profile image

        rea 

        2 years ago

        I would love to hear the answer to Tanz's questions.

        What other hair colour lines do you recommend (O&M not in Canada)..

        What are your thoughts on Organic Color Systems?

        Thank you for your time!

      • profile image

        Tanz 

        2 years ago

        Thank-you for your article with details on ingredients it's super helpful! I was considering Essencity but now that I know the ingredients it's a definite no no. I searched for O&M salons here in Canada but unfortunately there don't appear to be any. Can you please recommend some other hair colour lines? I can then search them to see if I can find a salon that does them. Where can I find the rest of your hair colour product reviews? Lastly what are your thoughts on Organic Color Systems hair colour and products? Thank-you!!

      • HairNerd profile imageAUTHOR

        Rosey 

        2 years ago from Austin, TX

        @Sandi, I really like Original & Mineral professional hair color. It's ppd-free, resorcinol-free, ammonia-free, gluten-free, cruelty-free, propylene glycol-free, and had 10 solid natural ingredients.

        I don't blame you @Diane. It's very harsh on the hair

      • profile image

        Diane D 

        3 years ago

        Very angry and disappointed!

        Waste of time and money

        Too long a time after mixing b/4 color

        Starts activating in bottle and then on hair. (1hr) color faded drasticly after 1wk

      • profile image

        Sandi Wilson 

        3 years ago

        So you never answered the question...what is your go-to hair color?

      • profile image

        Michelle 

        3 years ago

        I have been using Clairol's grey formula rinse and it works well for me. It lasts about 3 months before i need to get another one. My stylist is trying to encourage me to use Schwarzkopf Essensity and I can't find a good reason to switch. What are your thoughts about Clairol's rinse and the ingredients?

      • profile image

        Amber 

        3 years ago

        so what is your go-to hair coloring product? do you use henna? and even though you give this a low score (2/10), does it still rank better than traditional hair coloring products (aveda, l'oreal)?

      working

      This website uses cookies

      As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, bellatory.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

      For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://bellatory.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

      Show Details
      Necessary
      HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
      LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
      Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
      AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
      HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
      HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
      Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
      CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
      Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
      Features
      Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
      Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
      Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
      Marketing
      Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
      Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
      Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
      Statistics
      Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
      ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
      Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)